Arctic Wargame Thriller Author @EthanJonesBooks


I’d like to welcome Ethan Jones to my blog. Ethan is the author of books including Tripoli’s Target, the second novel in the Justin Hall series.

1. Who is Ethan Jones?
I’m a lawyer by trade, working on international trade and investments. I live in Canada, with my wife and my son.

2. Your books Arctic Wargame and Tripoli’s Target recently came out. What’s are they all about?
Arctic Wargame is the first book in Justin Hall series. Justin has been demoted because of a botched rescue operation in Libya, which was not his fault. Now, he’s a desk jockey. Eager to return to field work, he volunteers for a reconnaissance mission, when two foreign icebreakers appear in Canadian Arctic waters. His team discovers a weapons stash, along with a plan that threatens Canada’s security. At the same time, the team falls under attack by one of their own and is stranded helpless in the Arctic. It is now a race against time for Justin and his team to save themselves and their country.

Tripoli’s Target is the second book in Justin Hall series. Justin and his partner, Carrie O’Connor, are sent to meet with the Sheikh of the largest terrorist network in Northern Africa, to receive some high-value intelligence. They learn about an assassination plot against the US president, which is to happen during a G-20 summit in Tripoli, Libya. Justin and Carrie inform the US Secret Service about this plot. Then, new intelligence comes in, and they realize something is very, very wrong in their plan. Against all odds, they must stop the assassination before the summit forty-eight hours away.

3. The Arctic and Libya; how did it happen that you wrote about them?
I wrote Arctic Wargame in 2008-2009. When I started, it was just before the global crisis, when the oil prices were skyrocketing. There was a lot of talk about discovering new resources, mainly in the Arctic, since that’s the last unexplored frontier. Newspapers were buzzing with plans of the Arctic powers to militarize the region and to claim these riches for themselves. I set up my story against this background, imagining a scenario when one of these Arctic powers would go beyond tough rhetoric and actually begin armed actions on the ground.

I wrote Tripoli’s Target in 2009-2011. The Arab Spring had not started yet, and this area of the world had received little attention in numerous spy thrillers, which focused mostly on Afghanistan, Iraq or Iran. The “mad dog of the Middle East,” Qaddafi, was still alive and in very good terms with the Americans. The US Secretary of State Rice visited Tripoli and met with Qaddafi in 2008. I imagined someone in the terrorist networks may not like this coziness and may try to derail their improved relations. I had to change my storyline a lot as a result of the events taking place in 2011, with Qaddafi dethroned and then killed.

4. How did you get into writing?

I have always liked to read and I tried my hand at writing when I was 13-14. I would read a story or watch a movie and then go to write how I wanted the story or the movie to continue. Then life happened. After finishing law school, I also continued my graduate studies and got a Master of Laws degree. As a part of my degree, I had to write a 150-page thesis. The process of research, writing, rewriting and editing inspired me to return to my childhood passion. I was blessed with time and I learned things as I wrote.

Click here to download your copy.


5. What are you working on at moment?
I’m working on Fog of War, the third book in Justin Hall series. This time, Justin infiltrates some of the most dangerous spots in the planet. Iran, Somalia and Yemen, the hotbeds of terrorism in the making. Fog of War will come out in the summer of 2013.

6. How do you write – plan it or just go with an idea and see where you end up?
I wrote Arctic Wargame and Tripoli’s Target without an outline. I just planned the main storyline in my mind and went on writing. There were a couple of places where I really stumbled and had to think hard to come out with ideas and solutions. I have a somewhat flexible outline for Fog of War.

7. What advice would you give to new writers?

I learned as I wrote, so my advice is to begin writing and learn as you go. Read a lot of books, so you can see what works and what doesn’t. Learn from other authors, how they create their storylines, their plots, their chapters. Be patient and keep writing. Eventually, you’ll have something good.

My blog: http://ethanjonesbooks.wordpress.com is the place to learn about my future works, to enjoy exclusive book reviews and author interviews.

Follow me on Twitter: @EthanJonesBooks

My Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ethan-Jones/329693267050697

I love readers’ feedback. They can get in touch with me via e-mail at this address: fictionwriter78@yahoo.com .

Justin Hall and Carrie O’Connor, Canadian Intelligence Service Agents, find themselves in lawless North Africa on the trail of an assassination plot. The target is the US President, and the hit is scheduled to take place during a G-20 summit in Libya’s capital, Tripoli. But the source of their information is the deceitful leader of one of the deadliest terrorist groups in the area. Ambushes and questionable loyalties turn an already difficult mission into a dark maze of betrayal and misdirection.

Forced to return to Tripoli, Justin and Carrie dig up new intelligence pointing to a powerful Saudi prince bankrolling the assassination plan. What’s worse, Justin and Carrie realize something crucial is very, very wrong with their plan. The summit is only forty-eight hours away and they still have to stop the Saudi prince, dismantle the assassination plot, and save the life of Tripoli’s target. Tripoli’s Target promises to take the reader through a great story as it becomes the next international bestseller. Fans of David Baldacci, Vince Flynn, and Daniel Silva will love this high-octane spy thriller.

About Stacy Juba

Stacy Juba writes mysteries, romance novels and contemporary fiction about Characters at a Crossroads for adults, teens and children. Subscribe to her newsletter and/or follow her blog for freebies, resources and to discover new books.

Stacy Juba's Characters At A Crossroads Blog